January 25, 2011

MLL Releases 2011 Schedule

from press release

BOSTON -- Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced Tuesday the schedule for the 2011 season.

The 11th season of Major League Lacrosse begins on Saturday, May 14, with all six teams in action. In week one, Long Island will visit Boston, Rochester will travel to Annapolis to take on the defending champion Chesapeake Bayhawks, and Denver will host the Hamilton Nationals.

Once again this season every Major League Lacrosse game will be available live on ESPN3.com and will be available on television in syndication. A complete broadcast schedule will be made available at a later date.

Other schedule highlights include the return of Major League Lacrosse to Rochester, N.Y., in week two, when the Rattlers play host to Long Island. Also in week two, the Hamilton Nationals -- formerly of Toronto -- will play their first home game as Chesapeake travels to Ontario.

On June 12, ESPN2 will air the first of six Major League Lacrosse games in 2011 when Long Island visits Boston.

Week five features a rematch of the 2010 championship game when Chesapeake visits Long Island.

Fourth of July weekend will feature three games, including Rochester visiting Chesapeake and Boston traveling to Denver. The Outlaws will be looking to top the 20,000 mark in attendance for this game again this year. Last year's contest with Chesapeake drew a crowd of 23,433.

The 2011 Major League Lacrosse All-Star game will take place on Saturday, July 9 at Harvard Stadium in Boston and will be televised live on ESPN2.

The MLL season concludes in Annapolis where the 2010 MLL Championship Weekend is set to be played at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium Aug. 27-28. The semifinal games will be held on Saturday, Aug. 27, with the two semifinal winners advancing to the championship game on Sunday, Aug. 28



Lacrosse Magazine on Facebook


LaxMagazine.com features news, scores and standings tailored to your favorite teams.

» NCAA Division I Men
» NCAA Division I Women
» NCAA Division II Men
» NCAA Division II Women
» NCAA Division III Men
» NCAA Division III Women
» MCLA Division I Men
» MCLA Division II Men
» U.S. Senior Men
» U.S. Senior Women
» U.S. U19 Men
» U.S. U19 Women
» U.S. Indoor Men

// show either all first or all second banners