November 29, 2012

Stevenson to Host 2013 WD2, WD3 Championships

Mustang Stadium will host the 2013 Division II and III women's lacrosse championships in May.
© SKM Photography/Stevenson

from staff reports

The NCAA Division II and III Women's Lacrosse Committees have selected Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Md., as the host of the 2013 Division II and Division III women's lacrosse championships. The semifinals for both divisions will be held on May 18 with the championship games on May 19.

"The Baltimore area is such a hotbed for lacrosse, so going to this area for our championships is such a natural fit," Susan Hoffman, chair of the Division III Women's Lacrosse Committee and associate athletic director and senior woman administrator at SUNY Brockport, said in a press release. "We know the staff at Stevenson will make sure it is a tremendous event for everyone involved."

"Mustang Stadium is virtually brand new so we couldn't ask for a better venue," said Michelle Gober, chair of the Division II Women's Lacrosse Committee and associate athletic director and senior woman administrator at Kutztown. "We are very excited about the potential for it to be one of our best championships ever."

Owings Mills was named to replace Montclair, N.J., which had been scheduled to host the championship at Sprague Field. However, on Oct. 15, the NCAA relocated six 2013 championships from New Jersey because of the state's plan to pass law allowing sports wagering on professional and collegiate games.

The NCAA championships sports wagering policy prohibits the conducting of any championship session in a state with legal wagering that is based on single-game betting. This policy is in place to ensure the integrity of the game, provide consistency in awarding NCAA championships and to address concerns for student-athlete well-being.



Lacrosse Magazine on Facebook

FOLLOW THEM features news, scores and standings tailored to your favorite teams.

» NCAA Division I Men
» NCAA Division I Women
» NCAA Division II Men
» NCAA Division II Women
» NCAA Division III Men
» NCAA Division III Women
» MCLA Division I Men
» MCLA Division II Men
» U.S. Senior Men
» U.S. Senior Women
» U.S. U19 Men
» U.S. U19 Women
» U.S. Indoor Men

// show either all first or all second banners