November 3, 2010

Virginia Women Announce 2011 Schedule

from press release

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - Virginia women's lacrosse coach Julie Myers announced Wednesday the Cavaliers' schedule for the 2011 season. The slate features six games against teams that played in last year's NCAA Tournament, including all four semifinalists.

The Cavaliers will begin their season with three-straight road dates: at Loyola on Feb. 19, at Richmond on Feb. 23 and at NCAA semifinalist Syracuse on Feb. 26.

Virginia will return to Charlottesville to open its seven-game home schedule with back-to-back contests against 2010 NCAA and ACC Champion Maryland on March 4 and Penn State on March 6. The Cavaliers will then head to Chapel Hill, N.C., to take on NCAA semifinalist North Carolina on March 12.

In-state rival William & Mary will come to town on March 16, before Virginia plays two more home games around a trip to James Madison on March 23, hosting Princeton and ACC-foe Duke in Klöckner Stadium on March 19 and 26, respectively.

Virginia will play four of its next five games on the road with games at Old Dominion on March 30, Boston College on April 2 and Harvard on April 3 before returning home to face Virginia Tech on April 6. Virginia will wrap up its regular season road schedule on April 13 at George Mason.

The 2011 ACC Tournament will be hosted by Duke and held in Cary, N.C., from April 21-24.

Virginia's regular-season home finale is scheduled for April 30, a match-up against 2010 NCAA runner-up Northwestern.

This season's first and second round NCAA Championship games are scheduled for May 15 and 21, with the finals being hosted by Stony Brook on May 27-29.

Season tickets for Virginia's 2011 home schedule go on sale Monday, Jan. 3 and will once again feature an option that includes all home men's and women's lacrosse games in one ticket package.

2011 Virginia Women's Lacrosse Schedule
Date Opponent Time
Sat/Sun Jan. 29-30 Scrimmages at Disney, FL TBD
Sat., Feb. 19 @ Loyola College 1 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 23 @ Richmond 5 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 27 @Syracuse Noon
Fri., March 4 vs Maryland 7 p.m.
Sun., March 6 vs Penn State 1 p.m.
Sat., March 12 @ North Carolina 1 p.m.
Wed., March 16 vs William & Mary 7 p.m.
Sat., March 19 vs Princeton Noon

Wed., March 23 @ James Madison 7 p.m.
Sat., March 26 vs Duke 1 p.m.
Wed., March 30 @ Old Dominion 7 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 2 @ Boston College 1 p.m.
Sun., Apr. 3 @ Harvard 1 p.m.
Wed., Apr. 6 vs Virginia Tech 7 p.m.
Tues., Apr. 13 @ George Mason 7 p.m.
Thur., Apr. 21 ACC Quarters –NC 1/3:30 p.m.

Fri., Apr. 22 ACC Semis – NC 3:30/5 p.m.

Sun., Apr. 24 ACC Finals – NC 1 p.m.

Sat., Apr. 30 vs Northwestern Noon

Sun., May 15 NCAA 1st Round Game TBD
Sat., May 21 NCAA 2nd Round Game TBD
Fri., May 27 NCAA Semifinals at Stony Brook TBD
Sun., May 29 NCAA Finals at Stony Brook TBD


RELATED HEADLINES


FOLLOW US


Lacrosse Magazine on Facebook

FOLLOW THEM

LaxMagazine.com features news, scores and standings tailored to your favorite teams.

» NCAA Division I Men
» NCAA Division I Women
» NCAA Division II Men
» NCAA Division II Women
» NCAA Division III Men
» NCAA Division III Women
» MCLA Division I Men
» MCLA Division II Men
» MLL
» NLL
» U.S. Senior Men
» U.S. Senior Women
» U.S. U19 Men
» U.S. U19 Women
» U.S. Indoor Men

// show either all first or all second banners